Loss of Appetite

It does not happen in an instant. Nor does it happen in a year.

Slowly and surely as turns the seasons it progresses.

Then one day on the way home from the office you realize that it is gone. Gone is the idealism that drove the years of your youth. Gone is the practicality that drove your middle years. Gone is the love once felt for a spouse. Gone is the drive for repairing an old building. Gone is the motivation to build a new piece of furniture. Gone is the caring that sustained throughout life.

You realize all of a sudden that you have given up on life.

4 Responses to “Loss of Appetite”

  1. Steve Bennett Says:

    Nathan,
    I know that feeling well.
    From the Patrick Swayze, Lisa Niemi book “The Time of My Life”: Patrick states; ” But I knew instinctively that when one dream dies, you have to move on to a new one. The unhappiest people in the world are those who can;t recover from losing a dream—whose lives cease to have meaning. I wasn’t going to let that happen to me. It was a revelation that would later save my life.”
    I have not forgotten you Nathan and I have thought about your idea of a group for investing since I read it some months ago. I thoink it is time to look into a new endeavor and I have done so by taking the time to learn from a much younger man than I . Take the time to research Timothy Sykes . It isn’t about investing but more making money from the market by shorting penny stocks. A successful young man who has mastered this and teaches it well. I am beginning to feel like I want to win again because of this.

  2. There are probably very few people who haven’t felt this way at some point in their lives. What happens, I think, is that as we age the benchmark by which we measure a happy life is lowered. For some this happens earlier in life than it does for others. It happens most frequently as we retire and come to grips with our mortality. We settle for a quality of life that is a whole lot less than what it used to be. For some of us, this compromise is acceptable. For others, it is less so, or not at all. For your sake, I hope you don’t fall into that “not at all” category. For some, the “golden years” are anything but. I wish I could tell you what it is that distiguishes those who embrace their senior years and those who enter those years kicking and screaming to the very end. But I haven’t figured that out. Maybe that’s the next stage of life, Nathan.

    • Dan, Steve, and my audience:

      Thank you for your very kind responses.

      Perhaps I have been pushed to a new understanding of my life because my brother died in April and another of my family appears to be suffering the effects of dementia.

      Whilst some dreams have died, I still have many more. I have been privileged to have had a good mind that still works quite well. The idea of an investment community is viable and I have been studying on how to establish it.

      Again, thank you for your kindness.

      Nathan A. Busch

      • Nathan:

        Your idea set for “loss of appetite” is very touching, and understanding. As being “young, dumb, and full of…well” I dont believe that age plays any role in the “loss.” Those of us whom are intelligent enough to realize the lack of desire to finish projects, must look into ourselves and determine why we have lost the drive that once kindled our bodies. I can offer you the same advice that you would offer me “to get my head out of my ass, life’s rough, make it better, noone else will give it to you” however, the understanding side of my body agrees with what you say above. Whether its finishing a kitchen, finishing a sea wall, or completing a wood shop, there is always a reluctance to complete the project as it means you are moving forward.

        As I have reflected on the past week, I can’t hardly remember a more joyous time I have spent with the family. I know Dad is probably laughing and cursing me at the same time for making time to go fishing, making a special hunting trip, and even staying for an entire family dinner SOBRE, however I also know that he had taught me well to realize that our time is short, and to look past as much as possible; the in-differences that make us the Busch Family.

        Now that I have said more than enough kind words than should ever come out of a family members mouth, remember you’re famous question ‘do you wash and put away your dishes after the meal?”

        Thank you for your time last week, and never forget, you’ve got a nephew that needs his “get your head out of your ass” calls every so often!

        WB

Leave a Reply

