I Live My Principles

It is my fundamental belief that: the only core value to be defended above all others in a representative democracy is the right of every voice to be heard, considered, and respected. In our history, we have turned to violence in opposition to those that would censure and quash contrary voices. We have become a great nation only because those that have gone before us were willing to give the ultimate price to defend that core value. They served the institution we now know as democracy and their valor is saved in the repository of our collective conscious.

Over the past few days an open conflict has arisen amongst members of a committee of the Windom Area School Board as to the terms and conditions that the district would be willing to accept. That committee was, and is, in the process of negotiating a contract with Education Minnesota of the Windom School District. I took the position that the contract should not be ratified by the school board because, in my opinion, it is detrimental to the students, the district, the taxpayers, and eventually to the teachers. Two of the school board members expressed vehement criticism of my opposition and sought to have me removed from the committee because of my dissent. The Chairman of the School Board has demanded that I justify my opposition: a demand that he has not made of the two aforementioned school board members.

I was duly elected to be a voice of the residents of the Windom Area School District. They gave me the right to express their voice as a member of the School Board. Because the school board has sought to censure the voice of those that voted me into office as well as my own voice, I rose up in strenuous opposition. In the course of doing so, I took the battle to a place the sanctity of which deserved the utmost protection. For that, I am deeply sorry and apologize to all that heard and had to bear the emotional trauma of the battle.

I have long counseled others that: when their own principles are elevated above the needs of the institution that they serve, it is time for them depart from that institution. Without fault, I have elevated my own principle that the core value of a representative democracy must be protected, even at my own risk, above the sanctity and needs of the school that I sought to serve. It is time for me to depart.

I wish the school district well.

Nathan A. Busch

One Response to “I Live My Principles”

  1. Nathan are you sure this is something you won’t regret? I have always been told to “keep fighting the good fight” even when all seems bleak. Nobody questions your principles or ethics Nathan. You are the most principled person I know, but I think that you are too hard on yourself. You are after all, a human being. We are prone to make mistakes as human beings. People find it unattractive when people compare their morals and beliefs to others and remember if you want to win an office or judgeship you need to admit and allow yourself that sometime’s we all make mistakes but we need to continue on. What if F.D.R. had resigned after the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor? What is Governor Dayton had cried boo hoo after he retired from the Senate and was critisized by the press and Republicans? Well today we wouldn’t have someone to stand for us Minnesotans if he had. Nathan, I’m sad to see you chose this route. You have always given me good advice and I’m not wishing to be criticial in any way but, Nathan don’t be so hard on yourself, you aren’t perfect, I’m certainly not perfect either. We are human. And your mother would be proud of you even if you make mistakes. It seems to me like you are uprooting from the Windom community. If thats true it will be sad to see you go.

Leave a Reply

